Welcome to Springbrook, Wisconsin!
Located between Trego and Hayward, Springbrook is a great destination for outdoors enthusiasts. The Namekagon River, part of the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway, flows through Springbrook on its way to the St. Croix River. The Namekagon River is great for canoeing, kayaking, tubing, wildlife viewing and fishing.
Washburn County began with two townships, Veazie and Bashaw. These townships have been divided into the present twenty-one townships of today.
Springbrook Wisconsin in Washburn County began as a lumberjack stop over and blueberry shipment site. The settlement’s first name was Namekagon. Rivers and railroads connected Springbrook to the northwoods in all directions. The forests of hardwoods and Jackpine evergreens traveled by water to Springbrook and by rail to the lower states helping to satisfy our countries need to build and prosper.
Native Americans living on wild and Reservation lands picked blueberries for their winter cache and also sold them to the white settlers in large quantities for shipment by railroad to the lower states. At the height of berry season, as many as five hundred cases were shipped south on the noon express. Blueberry crates were made of lath three feet (3) long, four (4) inches wide, and fourteen (14) inches high and held sixteen (16) quarts of berries. Private customers in Georgia and other Southern states were willing to pay $3 per case.
The last long horn cattle were seen in Springbrook in 1895 at the Joe Trepania’s homestead. Lumberjack camps and logging died out in 1933 and the last big berry shipment was in 1922. The blueberry covered plots are still here but there are few and they are far apart. Springbrook has a quiet country splendor unique to our northwoods. The railroad whistle of today announcing “train coming” echoes through the countryside and into the past.